study Arts

Psychosexual Development stages

Psychosexual Develop stages

Psychosexual Develop stages
Psychosexual Develop stages

Psychosexual development is a theory developed by Sigmund Freud, a renowned psychologist, which describes how a child’s sexuality develops over time. According to this theory, children go through a series of stages, each of which is characterized by a different focus on different parts of the body.

Freud proposed that human development is driven by the innate sexual and aggressive drives within us. The psychosexual stages are divided into five stages: oral, anal, phallic, latency, and genital. Each stage corresponds to a different age range and is characterized by different conflicts and challenges.

The first stage of psychosexual development is the oral stage, which takes place from birth to about 18 months. During this stage, a child’s primary source of pleasure is oral stimulation, such as sucking and biting. If a child receives too little or too much oral stimulation, it can lead to fixations later in life, such as overeating or smoking.

Related Articles

The anal stage occurs from 18 months to three years old and is characterized by the child’s focus on bowel movements. During this stage, the child learns to control their bodily functions, which can lead to conflicts with parents over toilet training. If the child receives too much pressure or punishment during this stage, they may develop anal-retentive traits, such as being overly orderly and stingy, or anal-expulsive traits, such as being overly messy and impulsive.

The third stage of psychosexual development is the phallic stage, which takes place from three to six years old. During this stage, children become aware of their genitals and develop a sexual attraction to the opposite-sex parent (Oedipus complex for boys and Electra complex for girls). The child then begins to identify with the same-sex parent, which leads to the development of gender identity. If this stage is not resolved successfully, it can lead to gender identity issues and sexual dysfunction later in life.

The latency stage occurs from six years to puberty, and it is a period of relative calm in psychosexual development. During this stage, children focus on developing their social and intellectual skills rather than their sexuality.

Finally, the genital stage occurs during puberty and beyond, where individuals seek sexual pleasure through intimate relationships with others. If all previous stages have been resolved successfully, the individual should have a healthy and mature attitude towards sexuality.

Overall, Freud’s theory of psychosexual development has been influential in the field of psychology and continues to provide a framework for understanding how sexuality develops in childhood. However, critics argue that the theory is too focused on sexuality and does not take into account other important aspects of development, such as social and cognitive factors. Despite its limitations, the psychosexual development theory remains an important part of psychology’s history and continues to inform our understanding of human development.

celsus adah

Hey! am apostle celsus Adah am a blogger, i have passion for education my favorite subject is computer science because i see computer as the science an oracle of all learning. Because of the passion for technology after my SSCE which i was register on scholarship by sen. prof. Ben Ayade in 2014, i further to a level of where i got my diploma in cornerstone computer institute where i was sponsored under scholarship by a philanthropist chief Ukandi Emmanuel Inakefe. After which i further to be a certified graphics designer and web developer in s-techmax computer institute obudu. I love education so i blog about education in an advance level because education is power and the backbone of every nation to acquire a standard level of learning .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
Verified by MonsterInsights